Oh! How He loves us!!

“For God so loved the world that he gave his only begotten son” — John 3:16

Two years ago, I could not understand this the same way that I can now. Two years ago I did not have a daughter. I have read and heard this verse throughout my life more times than I can remember. I had been forced (by my life state) to imagine what love it might be like for God to send His only Son.

I had to consider the love I would need to give up my family, or friends. When I was married I would think of what it would mean to give up my wife for another, and yet, that is not the same as my daughter. My daughter is young, innocent (as can be), beautiful. I cannot imagine giving up my only daughter to save anyone. I cannot think of a single person. Though I love my wife dearly, I would still not give up my daughter to save the life of my wife were some tragic circumstance to force me to choose. This is what God did. Some of you are where I was some years back and can only imagine what it would be like to give up your child. But, as a matter of fact, I can only imagine as well, because I wouldn’t do it.

(Side note: I had some advice worth passing on. My friend told me “Some people say to wait 5, 7, or even 10 years to have kids. Don’t. The blessing is indescribable, and it isn’t worth waiting that long.” I would second that. I understand there are reasons and timing, but don’t give yourself a set number of years. Wait on the Lord and let Him direct it, because children surely bring such indescribable happiness.)

This child whom I love I would not give up. Not for anyone. However, some people have volunteered themselves at times.

7For scarcely for a righteous man will one die: yet peradventure for a good man some would even dare to die.” — Romans 5:7

You see, some people are willing to give of themselves to save another. They give more willingly to save more than one or a multitude. That is how bravery is often portrayed in our movies, and stories. Dying to save the innocent, or even the bad guys turning to good to save the good guys with their life. This is what we expect. But you don’t usually see the good guy dying to save the bad guy who stays bad. In fact, the good guy who would be willing to die for the bad guy would be seen as crazy. Even Lewis had Aslan die for Edmund after Edmund had already been turned to the good side. Aslan was not dying for a wicked person who remained wicked, that would not have made a good story.

“8But God commendeth his love toward us, in that, while we were yet sinners, Christ died for us.” Romans 5:8

God gave Christ when we were sinners. That word, sinners, has grown on us. We do not think of a grotesque and horrendous person. We know we are sinners and we don’t want to think of us that way. Consider how gross sin is.

Remember your little sister growing up (and if you had no sister, think of a close female relative or friend) or remember the wife of your youth. Remember how much you cared for and protected her. Oh, what you would have done to protect her. Now, imagine the gross sinner that molests and rapes her. Those words stand out to us. That angers us and brings deep sorrow into our hearts. I imagine such a story has us responding as David “The man that hath done this thing shall surely die.”

In our analogy, this predator is the one for whom I must give up my daughter. This person that has destroyed the life of my beloved sister. This person who has created a breech upon our family, and who rightfully deserves death. This is the person I would be giving my precious Arielle to die in his place. That is who we all are as sinners.

We are sinners, and though we have grown accustomed to that word, we have done greater insult, harm, destruction, to the glory of God, and we deserve a fate far worse than death.

“8But God commendeth his love toward us, in that, while we were yet sinners, Christ died for us.” Romans 5:8

17That Christ may dwell in your hearts by faith; that ye, being rooted and grounded in love, 18May be able to comprehend with all saints what is the breadth, and length, and depth, and height; 19And to know the love of Christ, which passeth knowledge, that ye might be filled with all the fulness of God.” — Ephesians 3:17-19

10Herein is love, not that we loved God, but that he loved us, and sent his Son to be the propitiation for our sins.” 1 John 4:10

One thought on “Oh! How He loves us!!

Leave a Reply

