More blessed

It is that time of year again at our church. The missions revival week is at the end of the month and we already begin focusing there. This inevitably leads to the discussion of faith promise, and thus giving. But, is it really that big a deal?

Its really easy for me, you see. I’m quite well off. I have a good job. I have a wonderful and supportive wife and family and way more things than we need. We can splurge and we can spend on things many would call extras. It must be easy for me to give to the church,  missionaries, the homeless, etc.

In fact it is easy. But not really so much for those reasons. God has made some promises to me that I can depend on.  He has taught me some things that make giving an easy decision. He has shown me the best investment opportunity.

By faith we please God. Not by money.

He that gives to the poor lends to God.

Treasure in Heaven is far more valuable.

We reap what we sow.

Life on earth is as a vapor and when God decides it is over we can’t take anything with us.

It is more blessed to give than to receive.

We don’t have to focus on money when we trust God implicitly. We don’t have to worry about anything, really.

Pray that God will let you invest where it matters. It shouldn’t be hard, but rather joyous!

One thought on “More blessed

Leave a Reply

